Late night quiet…

I am currently up to damn late on the Sunday night before I have to go to work. Why? I am typing up lab notes.

You see, my local university recently decided to require an “artifact” for each and every class taken. The traditonal vehicle for this artifact is the term paper.

Now in a number of cases this is a good idea, however I highly debate whether there are many cases of academic progress or revelation involved in crafting one. Most term papers I have seen are simply carefully crafted cut and paste documents that were it not for the carefully cited sections would qualify as plagirism. Original thought is not an issue here in my opinion. A term paper is merely a synthesis of knowledge from those who have gone before and actually made “real” progress in a chosen field.

This time im y Microsoft OS class I have been spared much of this idiocy simply because my teacher has no patience for the absurd. So instaed we are going to be turning in carefully crafted lab menus of notes and occurances that took place during our installations and lab work.

Thus I am typing into the wee hours of the morning, when I would much rather be in bed, asleep next to my wife.

You can’t always get what you want.


On another note, I just got done installing Open Office 1.10 and must say that it kicks serious ass. It handles Microsft documents with aplomb and performs a flawless direct export to Adobe PDF (at least with stright text, I haven’t tried it with images yet) faster than Acrobat 5 ever did.

And it doesn’t cost a dime.

Do yourselves a favor and scope it out.


Now, I know I just ordered the thing…but I am extremely anxious for my new pc to get here. I am an impatient person at times 😉

~ by maximkovalenko on October 6, 2003.

Leave a Reply

 
