For <lj user=”meteru”>, <lj user=”gomichan”>, and <lj user=”lordravage”>

I have seen the future my friends…

The future is Carrara 5

I managed to nab some time on a computer that had it for a while this morning and did some test runs of some things…The results are staggering to say the least.

I used my reference character (Julia Wells) because f all the custom texture work and such that went into creating her and I find the results to be absolutely incredible.

What you are looking at behind the cut is a straight import into Carrara of the just the basic Poser file…for image quality I cranked the shit out of everything.

My friends, I am absolutely astonished at just how good a job it does.  For the graphic/computer geeks out there, C5 does multithread support for rendering too, plus you can set up rendering nodes like you can with Bryce foir  a home grown render farm.

After seeing the results of this, I have to honestly say that I think Bryce is finished.

~ by maximkovalenko on April 7, 2006.

14 Responses to “For <lj user=”meteru”>, <lj user=”gomichan”>, and <lj user=”lordravage”>”

  1. I don’t know anything about computer graphics, but even I can tell that that’s *incredible*.

  2. Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

    I didn’t expect anything nearly this good…I had nothing but problems with the previous version…

    It looks like once I start working again that I have a couple of new purchases on the horizon;)

  3. WOW! Love it!

    Does it take longer to render in C5 then Bryce?

    I am trying to incorp bryce into CDI but my comp is way too slow. It will take way too long to render the things I need..:P

    I gues what I am asking Is C5 worth it?

    ๐Ÿ˜€

    ~Julian

  4. On average, things tend to take less time to render in C5 than in Bryce…

    However, there are some caveats to this…

    1. YOu can configure your render in a lot more detail (options, depth of field) and the like than Bryce allows you.

    2. The other thing is that C5 allows you to truly use a hyperthreaded processor like it was meant to be used (aka as a dual core). That can be turned on and off. Heat will be an issue, I have already had one processor shut down due to overheating.

    C5 isn’t as simple to use as Bryce…the learning curve seems to be a little bit steeper…(I’m mainly using it as a render engine right now)

    In the end I guess my answer is…it can be worth it, if you are willing to take the time and effort to do it.

    (Reply to this)(Parent)

  5. On average, things tend to take less time to render in C5 than in Bryce…

    However, there are some caveats to this…

    1. YOu can configure your render in a lot more detail (options, depth of field) and the like than Bryce allows you.

    2. The other thing is that C5 allows you to truly use a hyperthreaded processor like it was meant to be used (aka as a dual core). That can be turned on and off. Heat will be an issue, I have already had one processor shut down due to overheating.

    C5 isn’t as simple to use as Bryce…the learning curve seems to be a little bit steeper…(I’m mainly using it as a render engine right now)

    In the end I guess my answer is…it can be worth it, if you are willing to take the time and effort to do it.

    (Reply to this)(Parent)

  6. Holy shit.

    Wow.

    Me wants. Actually I think I have it somewhere, just never got around to installing it. Perhaps I should make the time.

    That render is just incredible, man. I’m gonna have to set it up and see how the new Michiko looks.

  7. I’ve been playing around with this off and on all day…what absolutely nails it is the Transposer plugin that comes with Carrara Pro 5.

    The only thing I got to worry about with my rig is heat issues…C5 will actually use both halfs of an HT processor . On my rig, heat can build up pretty damn quick…all the more reason for me to finally step over to a desktop someday…

    I’ve been thinking Alienware MJ12 dual Xeons for quite sometime ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Oh and did I mention that Transposer also handles dynamic hair as well?

  8. Yep, definitely gotta try it out.

  9. The only thing I really haven’t tried it out on so far is Aiko, at this point.

    I’ve ran through the base Poser figures…plus V3 and M3 without a hitch…

    THe only thing that makes me twitch a bit is the “floating eyebrow thing” with Aiko. I have no idea how that wil turn out.

  10. The only thing I really haven’t tried it out on so far is Aiko, at this point.

    I’ve ran through the base Poser figures…plus V3 and M3 without a hitch…

    THe only thing that makes me twitch a bit is the “floating eyebrow thing” with Aiko. I have no idea how that wil turn out.

  11. Yeah, I’m curious myself. I know it’s a major pain in the ass with Bryce, but I wonder how Carrara will handle it.

  12. Yeah, I’m curious myself. I know it’s a major pain in the ass with Bryce, but I wonder how Carrara will handle it.

Leave a Reply

 
