Bored, bored, fucking bored….

3 start up Blue screens and a reos tonight…I still got comics done for tomorrow at any rate.

I have got to get off my ass and put together a ghost image again…

In other tech type commentary:copernic fixed the fucking problem with fucking up the default search behavior for Firefox/Bon Echo.  Final-fucking-ly  At any rate, I am using their search tool again for Poser archiving and the like.

Otherwise things are proceding apace…I know that there are talk of some projects for Spiderforest coming up  (they sound pretty dang cool, too…but I am gonna keep my mouth shut on this for now πŸ˜‰ )….Still no word on the job front, and I am also slowly going stir crazy.

Got my normal writing schedule to pick up with again, plus I have to do another Tunnelrunners for this next week.  The pieces are already done for that one at least, I just got to put it together.

~ by maximkovalenko on June 2, 2006.

5 Responses to “Bored, bored, fucking bored….”

  1. what up. i just randomly ran accross your lj, through some convoluted trail of links, and i was sitting there being amazed by your comic, when it dawned on me- dude, you totally went to my high school.

    -singing- it’s a small world after all, it’s a small world after all! it’s a small world after all, it’s a small, small world, and so on and so forth ad nauseum.

    anyway. nice to ‘meet’ you. best of luck in all your endeavors. πŸ™‚

  2. I think this is probably the nicest thing I heard all day πŸ™‚

    Wow…a definite small world indeed, most of the time I don’t even like to admit that I went to MHS;)

    If I remember correctly, you were a student there when Joe Trimboli was principle.

    I’m glad you like the comic as well…:)

  3. yeah, unfortunately i was subjected to the nightmare that was trimboli. suffice it to say i wasn’t his favorite person in the world. in my own humble opinion, he took it upon himself to pick on the kids (myself included) that were “different.” high school was pretty heinous for me, but whatever, i’m over it. πŸ™‚

    i don’t often like to admit any affiliation with mhs either. in fact, i only recently started updating my lj again after a long hiatus and i discovered the schools thingy today, so i added it. i noticed though, that most of the other people who had anything to do with mishawaka high school were considerably younger than me… hmm.. it’s a possibility that i’m stunted. πŸ˜‰

    regarding your comic- dude, i hope you’re sending out portfolios to publishers, even animation studios or what have you, because the artwork is incredible. i mean that!

  4. When I went to MHS, Trimboli was still a vice-principal/dean at the time. Back in high school, I was the outcast/musician type, I spent more time playing in bands and stuff than hanging out with most of my classmates. I was fortunate in the fact that the principal at the time (Mr.Noel) was a pretty cool dude, he used to run a lot of interference for me when I had to deal with a lot of the higherup types (I had a tendency to pretty outspoken, and I didn’t take any guff from someone if they were in the wrong,even if they were in a position of authority)….

    As for Requiem: Thank you! :)…I have been putting together files and stuff for an actual graphic novel of this beast…I’m thinking of the first year of published comics especially with the way the first year of comics end ( http://requiem.spiderforest.com/?comic_id=310) The only problem is that some of the earliest comics need to be redone badly…mainly because I just didn’t know what the hell I was doing, plus the tools I am using have gotten a lot better.(some of the earliest ones just make me shudder, even some of the Tunnelrunners comics have that problem.) Plus with how long it takes to do each one (anywhere from 3 to 6-7 hours per comic) it’s just burns a lot of time. I do come up with a lot of extra stuff that looks pretty interesting along the way though which is over at http://requiemcomic.googlepages.com/home What I need to do is nab a couple of extra computers and just set them up as a farm to rebuild/redo the earliest ones again.

    I have thought about going the animation studio route (especially since a lot of the same tools that I am using right now are being used at LucasArts and stuff.) The problem I have is that I started out too late. I got into this stuff back in the early 2000’s…didn’t even really get heavily back into computers until around that time as well. Back when I was at MHS, you couldn’t even take an advanced computer class without taking trigonometry as a requirement first. Now, computer courses are a requirement.

    It just blows my mind sometimes how much things have changed…back then, the stuff I do would have been impossible to do with a warehouse full of computers chained together. Nowadays, I’m doing these comics at home and on the road on a 17inch widescreen laptop. I just can’t get over it at times, I really can’t…especially when I go back through my archives and see something that I really think looks good and realise “Hey, I did that thing in a hotel room in Toronto on my laptop!” πŸ˜‰

  5. i know, it’s really incredible how things have progressed. when i was in highschool the most advanced computer class they had was like, how to insert clip art into your word processessing. πŸ™‚ but the whole school has changed a lot. my boyfriend’s 15 year old niece told me last night that she made the ‘hip hop dance team.’ at mhs. so maybe they’re not only trying to add technology, but diversity to boot? if so, it would certainly be preferable to how things were back in my day!

Leave a Reply

 
